• Summary
  • Dates
  • Venue

Summary

In these challenging times, Joseph Beuys’s ideas of an “extended definition of art empowered with the creative potential to help shape society and politics” is worth considering again.

This exhibition focuses on a unique experiment in penal reform which, more than 40 years ago, challenged society’s understanding of the causes of violence resulting from incarceration, physical deprivation and drug abuse.

Inspired by Richard Demarco, selected artists revisit the legacy of Barlinnie Prison’s Special Unit and – with HMP Humber’s Graft studio – set a progressive contemporary context exploring the transformative possibilities of art and the continuing relevance of the creative solutions that were offered.


Event Type

  • Family Friendly

Date Time Price  
Sat 21 Sep 10.00am Free  
Sun 22 Sep 10.00am Free  
Mon 23 Sep 10.00am Free  
Tue 24 Sep 10.00am Free  
Wed 25 Sep 10.00am Free  
Thu 26 Sep 10.00am Free  
Fri 27 Sep 10.00am Free  
Sat 28 Sep 10.00am Free  
Sun 29 Sep 10.00am Free  
Mon 30 Sep 10.00am Free  
Tue 1 Oct 10.00am Free  
Wed 2 Oct 10.00am Free  
Thu 3 Oct 10.00am Free  
Fri 4 Oct 10.00am Free  
Sat 5 Oct 10.00am Free  
Sun 6 Oct 10.00am Free  
Mon 7 Oct 10.00am Free  
Tue 8 Oct 10.00am Free  
Wed 9 Oct 10.00am Free  
Thu 10 Oct 10.00am Free  
Fri 11 Oct 10.00am Free  
Sat 12 Oct 10.00am Free  
Sun 13 Oct 10.00am Free  
Mon 14 Oct 10.00am Free  
Tue 15 Oct 10.00am Free  
Wed 16 Oct 10.00am Free  
Thu 17 Oct 10.00am Free  
Fri 18 Oct 10.00am Free  
Sat 19 Oct 10.00am Free  
Sun 20 Oct 10.00am Free  
Mon 21 Oct 10.00am Free  
Tue 22 Oct 10.00am Free  
Wed 23 Oct 10.00am Free  
Thu 24 Oct 10.00am Free  
Fri 25 Oct 10.00am Free  
Sat 26 Oct 10.00am Free  
Sun 27 Oct 10.00am Free  
Mon 28 Oct 10.00am Free  
Tue 29 Oct 10.00am Free  
Wed 30 Oct 10.00am Free  
Thu 31 Oct 10.00am Free  
Fri 1 Nov 10.00am Free  
Sat 2 Nov 10.00am Free  
Sun 3 Nov 10.00am Free  

Venue

University of Hull
Cottingham Road
Hull
HU6 7RX
01482 465683

http://www2.hull.ac.uk/lli/induction/index.html

If you have purchased a ticket for an event/activity at this venue through hull2017.co.uk, please do not contact the venue direct with enquiries for that purchase as they will be unable to help.

Venue Access

  • Accessible Information Points
  • Accessible Toilets
  • Assistance Dogs
  • Blue-Badge Parking
  • Hearing Loop
  • Level Access
  • Wheelchair Access

Opening times

Monday 10am-5pm
Tuesday 10am - 7pm
Wednesday 10am - 5pm
Thursday 10am - 5pm
Friday 10am - 5pm
Saturday 10am - 5pm
Sunday 10am - 5pm

Processing...
Thank you! Your subscription has been confirmed. You'll hear from us soon.
ErrorHere