• Summary
  • Dates
  • Venue

Summary

Have you ever wondered what life was like ‘below stairs’ at a Yorkshire country house? A fascinating new exhibition exploring the daily lives of servants at the grand Burton Constable Hall opens on 4th May 2019!

Containing glimpses of the hidden world of the servant’s hall, with its own strict hierarchy and limited comforts, this exhibition reveals the day-to-day details of life for servants at the hall from the 18th and 19th Centuries. Discover what life would have been like for Antoine Reny, Lady Clifford Constable’s fashionable French Lady’s Maid from Paris, and for Susan Hoe, the first housemaid in 1866. The display reveals the difficulties of life ‘below stairs’, but also the status that some servants held in the household and how close some came to being counted as family.

Find out more about the huge numbers of staff required to run a hall the size of Burton Constable, and the varied jobs they performed. How would you have fared as a 19th Century housemaid? Giving a fresh insight into life behind the scenes at Burton Constable and with activities for the whole family, this exhibition is one not to miss.


Event Type

  • Family Friendly

Suitability

All ages

Date Time Price  
Tue 23 Jul 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Wed 24 Jul 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Thu 25 Jul 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Fri 26 Jul 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Sat 27 Jul 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Sun 28 Jul 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Tue 30 Jul 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Wed 31 Jul 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Thu 1 Aug 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Fri 2 Aug 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Sat 3 Aug 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Sun 4 Aug 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Tue 6 Aug 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Wed 7 Aug 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Thu 8 Aug 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Fri 9 Aug 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Sat 10 Aug 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Sun 11 Aug 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Tue 13 Aug 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Wed 14 Aug 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Thu 15 Aug 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Fri 16 Aug 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Sat 17 Aug 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Sun 18 Aug 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Tue 20 Aug 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Wed 21 Aug 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Thu 22 Aug 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Fri 23 Aug 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Sat 24 Aug 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Sun 25 Aug 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Mon 26 Aug 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Tue 27 Aug 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Wed 28 Aug 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Thu 29 Aug 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Fri 30 Aug 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Sat 31 Aug 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Sun 1 Sep 12.00am £11 - £11.50  
Sold Out
Tue 3 Sep 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Wed 4 Sep 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Thu 5 Sep 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Fri 6 Sep 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Sat 7 Sep 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Sun 8 Sep 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Tue 10 Sep 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Wed 11 Sep 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Thu 12 Sep 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Fri 13 Sep 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Sat 14 Sep 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Sun 15 Sep 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Tue 17 Sep 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Wed 18 Sep 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Thu 19 Sep 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Fri 20 Sep 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Sat 21 Sep 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Sun 22 Sep 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Tue 24 Sep 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Wed 25 Sep 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Thu 26 Sep 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Fri 27 Sep 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Sat 28 Sep 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Sun 29 Sep 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Tue 1 Oct 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Wed 2 Oct 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Thu 3 Oct 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Fri 4 Oct 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Sat 5 Oct 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Sun 6 Oct 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Tue 8 Oct 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Wed 9 Oct 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Thu 10 Oct 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Fri 11 Oct 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Sat 12 Oct 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Sun 13 Oct 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Tue 15 Oct 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Wed 16 Oct 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Thu 17 Oct 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Fri 18 Oct 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Sat 19 Oct 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Sun 20 Oct 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Tue 22 Oct 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Wed 23 Oct 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Thu 24 Oct 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Fri 25 Oct 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Sat 26 Oct 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Sun 27 Oct 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Tue 29 Oct 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Wed 30 Oct 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Thu 31 Oct 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Fri 1 Nov 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Sat 2 Nov 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  
Sun 3 Nov 12.00pm £11 - £11.50  

Venue

Burton Constable
Skirlaugh
HU11 4LN
01964 562400

www.burtonconstable.com

If you have purchased a ticket for an event/activity at this venue through hull2017.co.uk, please do not contact the venue direct with enquiries for that purchase as they will be unable to help.

Social Channels

Instagram

Venue Access

  • Accessible Toilets
  • Assistance Dogs
  • Baby Changing
  • Blue-Badge Parking
  • Wheelchair Access

Opening times

Monday 11am-5pm (18 March - 20 December)
Tuesday 11am-5pm (18 March - 20 December)
Wednesday 11am-5pm (18 March - 20 December)
Thursday 11am-5pm (18 March - 20 December)
Friday 11am-5pm (18 March - 20 December)
Saturday 11am-5pm (18 March - 20 December)
Sunday 11am-5pm (18 March - 20 December)

Processing...
Thank you! Your subscription has been confirmed. You'll hear from us soon.
ErrorHere