• Summary
  • Dates
  • Venue

Summary

An ongoing partnership with Royal Collection Trust brings a masterpiece by Hans Holbein the Younger to Hull for the first time, generously lent by Her Majesty The Queen from the Royal Collection. A portrait drawing of Sir Thomas More (1478-1535). The portrait, likely connected to a single oil portrait of the sitter, shows his head and shoulders facing three-quarters to the right. He wears a hat and fur collar. The drawing has been pricked for transfer. Inscribed in an eighteenth-century hand at upper left: Tho: Moor Ld Chancelour.

Hans Holbein was born in Augsburg, Germany, trained in Basel, Switzerland and spent a total of thirteen years in England, in 1526-8 and 1532-43. The major work of Holbein’s first period in England was a portrait of the family of Sir Thomas More and during the latter period he became the most important artist at the court of Henry VIII. A small display focusing on preparatory studies and final artworks from the Ferens Art Gallery’s permanent collection will be highlighted alongside Holbein’s masterpiece. Holbein’s Sir Thomas More portrait marks the third of five exceptional works of art from the Royal Collection to go on display at the Ferens Art Gallery between 2017 and 2021.


Event Type

  • Family Friendly

Date Time Price  
Sat 23 Mar 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 24 Mar 10.30am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 25 Mar 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 26 Mar 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 27 Mar 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 28 Mar 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 29 Mar 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 30 Mar 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 31 Mar 10.30am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 1 Apr 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 2 Apr 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 3 Apr 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 4 Apr 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 5 Apr 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 6 Apr 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 7 Apr 10.30am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 8 Apr 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 9 Apr 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 10 Apr 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 11 Apr 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 12 Apr 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 13 Apr 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 14 Apr 10.30am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 15 Apr 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 16 Apr 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 17 Apr 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 18 Apr 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 19 Apr 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 20 Apr 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 21 Apr 10.30am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 22 Apr 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 23 Apr 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 24 Apr 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 25 Apr 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 26 Apr 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 27 Apr 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 28 Apr 10.30am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 29 Apr 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 30 Apr 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 1 May 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 2 May 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 3 May 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 4 May 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 5 May 10.30am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 6 May 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 7 May 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 8 May 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 9 May 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 10 May 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 11 May 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 12 May 10.30am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 13 May 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 14 May 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 15 May 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 16 May 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 17 May 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 18 May 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 19 May 10.30am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 20 May 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 21 May 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 22 May 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 23 May 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 24 May 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 25 May 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 26 May 10.30am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 27 May 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 28 May 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 29 May 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 30 May 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 31 May 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 1 Jun 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 2 Jun 10.30am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 3 Jun 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 4 Jun 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 5 Jun 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 6 Jun 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 7 Jun 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 8 Jun 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 9 Jun 10.30am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 10 Jun 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 11 Jun 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 12 Jun 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 13 Jun 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 14 Jun 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 15 Jun 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 16 Jun 10.30am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 17 Jun 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 18 Jun 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 19 Jun 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 20 Jun 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 21 Jun 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 22 Jun 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 23 Jun 10.30am Free  
Add to Itinerary

Venue

Queen Victoria Square
Hull
HU1 3RA
01482 300 300

www.hcandl.co.uk/ferens

If you have purchased a ticket for an event/activity at this venue through hull2017.co.uk, please do not contact the venue direct with enquiries for that purchase as they will be unable to help.

Social Channels

Youtube

Venue Access

  • Accessible Toilets
  • Assistance Dogs
  • Baby Changing
  • Hearing Loop
  • Level Access
  • Wheelchair Access

Opening times

Monday 10am - 4:30pm
Tuesday 10am - 4:30pm
Wednesday 10am - 4:30pm
Thursday 10am - 4:30pm
Friday 10am - 4:30pm
Saturday 10am - 4:30pm
Sunday 11am - 4.00pm

Are you sure?

By disagreeing you will no longer have access to our site and will be logged out.

Privacy Preference Center

Analytics

Allows Hull City Council and it’s partners to monitor website traffic, and provide a more relevant experience to end-users, across a variety of platforms

_ga, _gid, _gat
fr, wd, sb, xs, pl, c_user, datr

Content delivery

Allows the Hull City Council site to improve delivery of static content and media, using a specialised content delivery network (CDN)

[none]
__cfduid

Queueing

Allows Hull City Council to fairly and properly allocated high-demand tickets, protects the Hull City Council web server from overloading in times of exceptionally high traffic

QueueITAccepted-SDFrts345E-V3_testspektrixprotect
Queue-it

Commenting

Allows Hull City Council and it's partners to manage commenting, prevent comment spam and moderate comments.

[none]
__utmz, __utma, disqus_unique, G_ENABLED_IDPS

Close your account?

Your account will be closed and all data will be permanently deleted and cannot be recovered. Are you sure?

Processing...
Thank you! Your subscription has been confirmed. You'll hear from us soon.
ErrorHere