• Summary
  • Dates
  • Venue

Summary

Sir Thomas Lawrence’s famous portrait of William Wilberforce will be exhibited in Hull at the Ferens Art Gallery as part of a major project launched by the National Portrait Gallery. The COMING HOME project sees the National Portrait Gallery lend 50 portraits of iconic individuals to places across the UK with which they are most closely associated.

William Wilberforce was born in 1759, the son of a Hull merchant. In 1780, Wilberforce was elected MP for Hull, and through tireless efforts, became the parliamentary spokesperson for the British campaign to abolish Transatlantic Slavery.

As Wilberforce’s portrait will journey home, an accompanying exhibition will look at the journey of his legacy. Starting with Wilberforce, his life in Hull and his pivotal role in the Abolition campaign, the exhibition will explore how his memory has been celebrated in the City and inspired anti-slavery campaigner Salim Charles Wilson in the 1900s. The exhibition also includes a 2007 commission for Hull by Jamaican artist Keith Piper to mark the national bicentenary of the abolition of the Transatlantic Slave Trade.

The portrait will be on display in the Ferens Art Gallery together with works from the Ferens, and Wilberforce House Museum permanent collections.


Event Type

  • Family Friendly

Date Time Price  
Sat 21 Sep 10.00am Free  
Sun 22 Sep 11.00am Free  
Mon 23 Sep 10.00am Free  
Tue 24 Sep 10.00am Free  
Wed 25 Sep 10.00am Free  
Thu 26 Sep 10.00am Free  
Fri 27 Sep 10.00am Free  
Sat 28 Sep 10.00am Free  
Sun 29 Sep 11.00am Free  
Mon 30 Sep 10.00am Free  
Tue 1 Oct 10.00am Free  
Wed 2 Oct 10.00am Free  
Thu 3 Oct 10.00am Free  
Fri 4 Oct 10.00am Free  
Sat 5 Oct 10.00am Free  
Sun 6 Oct 11.00am Free  
Mon 7 Oct 10.00am Free  
Tue 8 Oct 10.00am Free  
Wed 9 Oct 10.00am Free  
Thu 10 Oct 10.00am Free  
Fri 11 Oct 10.00am Free  
Sat 12 Oct 10.00am Free  
Sun 13 Oct 11.00am Free  
Mon 14 Oct 10.00am Free  
Tue 15 Oct 10.00am Free  
Wed 16 Oct 10.00am Free  
Thu 17 Oct 10.00am Free  
Fri 18 Oct 10.00am Free  
Sat 19 Oct 10.00am Free  
Sun 20 Oct 11.00am Free  
Mon 21 Oct 10.00am Free  
Tue 22 Oct 10.00am Free  
Wed 23 Oct 10.00am Free  
Thu 24 Oct 10.00am Free  
Fri 25 Oct 10.00am Free  
Sat 26 Oct 10.00am Free  
Sun 27 Oct 11.00am Free  
Mon 28 Oct 10.00am Free  
Tue 29 Oct 10.00am Free  
Wed 30 Oct 10.00am Free  
Thu 31 Oct 10.00am Free  
Fri 1 Nov 10.00am Free  
Sat 2 Nov 10.00am Free  
Sun 3 Nov 11.00am Free  
Mon 4 Nov 10.00am Free  
Tue 5 Nov 10.00am Free  
Wed 6 Nov 10.00am Free  
Thu 7 Nov 10.00am Free  
Fri 8 Nov 10.00am Free  
Sat 9 Nov 10.00am Free  
Sun 10 Nov 11.00am Free  
Mon 11 Nov 10.00am Free  
Tue 12 Nov 10.00am Free  
Wed 13 Nov 10.00am Free  
Thu 14 Nov 10.00am Free  
Fri 15 Nov 10.00am Free  
Sat 16 Nov 10.00am Free  
Sun 17 Nov 11.00am Free  
Mon 18 Nov 10.00am Free  
Tue 19 Nov 10.00am Free  
Wed 20 Nov 10.00am Free  
Thu 21 Nov 10.00am Free  
Fri 22 Nov 10.00am Free  
Sat 23 Nov 10.00am Free  
Sun 24 Nov 11.00am Free  
Mon 25 Nov 10.00am Free  
Tue 26 Nov 10.00am Free  
Wed 27 Nov 10.00am Free  
Thu 28 Nov 10.00am Free  
Fri 29 Nov 10.00am Free  
Sat 30 Nov 10.00am Free  
Sun 1 Dec 11.00am Free  
Mon 2 Dec 10.00am Free  
Tue 3 Dec 10.00am Free  
Wed 4 Dec 10.00am Free  
Thu 5 Dec 10.00am Free  
Fri 6 Dec 10.00am Free  
Sat 7 Dec 10.00am Free  
Sun 8 Dec 11.00am Free  
Mon 9 Dec 10.00am Free  
Tue 10 Dec 10.00am Free  
Wed 11 Dec 10.00am Free  
Thu 12 Dec 10.00am Free  
Fri 13 Dec 10.00am Free  
Sat 14 Dec 10.00am Free  
Sun 15 Dec 11.00am Free  
Mon 16 Dec 10.00am Free  
Tue 17 Dec 10.00am Free  
Wed 18 Dec 10.00am Free  
Thu 19 Dec 10.00am Free  
Fri 20 Dec 10.00am Free  
Sat 21 Dec 10.00am Free  
Sun 22 Dec 11.00am Free  
Mon 23 Dec 10.00am Free  
Sun 29 Dec 11.00am Free  
Mon 30 Dec 10.00am Free  
Tue 31 Dec 10.00am Free  
Thu 2 Jan 10.00am Free  
Fri 3 Jan 10.00am Free  
Sat 4 Jan 10.00am Free  
Sun 5 Jan 11.00am Free  
Mon 6 Jan 10.00am Free  
Tue 7 Jan 10.00am Free  
Wed 8 Jan 10.00am Free  
Thu 9 Jan 10.00am Free  
Fri 10 Jan 10.00am Free  
Sat 11 Jan 10.00am Free  
Sun 12 Jan 11.00am Free  
Mon 13 Jan 10.00am Free  
Tue 14 Jan 10.00am Free  
Wed 15 Jan 10.00am Free  
Thu 16 Jan 10.00am Free  
Fri 17 Jan 10.00am Free  
Sat 18 Jan 10.00am Free  
Sun 19 Jan 11.00am Free  

Venue

Queen Victoria Square
Hull
HU1 3RA
01482 300 300

www.hcandl.co.uk/ferens

If you have purchased a ticket for an event/activity at this venue through hull2017.co.uk, please do not contact the venue direct with enquiries for that purchase as they will be unable to help.

Social Channels

Youtube

Venue Access

  • Accessible Toilets
  • Assistance Dogs
  • Baby Changing
  • Hearing Loop
  • Level Access
  • Wheelchair Access

Opening times

Monday 10am - 4:30pm
Tuesday 10am - 4:30pm
Wednesday 10am - 4:30pm
Thursday 10am - 4:30pm
Friday 10am - 4:30pm
Saturday 10am - 4:30pm
Sunday 11am - 4.00pm

Processing...
Thank you! Your subscription has been confirmed. You'll hear from us soon.
ErrorHere