Madame Clapham opened a dressmaking salon in 1887, which by the 1890s was highly regarded and attracted worldwide patronage for the quality and style of ladies’ fashion that she produced. Join us to find out more about Mrs Emily Clapham and about how she went from picking pins up from the floor to making dresses for royalty.
The museum is open from 12.00 noon to 4.00 pm every second and fourth Saturday of each month. The Hands on History Museum, in the old Grammar School where William Wilberforce studied, houses the story of Hull and its people. Entry to the museum is free. Hands on History includes a fascinating glimpse into Victorian times, the Story of Hull and also features the Egyptian Gallery. This gallery is home to a genuine 2,600 year old mummy and unique replicas of King Tutankhamen’s treasures.
Accessible Information Points