From Henry VIII to Queen Victoria – The Journey Taken To Defend The River Hull
Built in the early years of the 1540’s Henry VIII’s South Blockhouse can be viewed as a mirror against which the worries and anxieties of British monarchs, as well as national and local governments, were reflected for nearly 400 years.
This year the people of Hull are spending the summer uncovering the story of this nationally important monument and as part of the Festival of Archaeology the site will be open to the public.
On the day the team will be on hand (10.30 – 15.00) to show visitors the archaeology, talk through the artefacts that have been recovered from the dig and to tell the story of this remarkable monument.
The South Blockhouse is a nationally significant monument, part of a scheme fortifications on the east bank of the River Hull, constructed on the orders of Henry VIII between 1541-43. Its cloverleaf shape, designed by the prominent military engineer John Rogers, is unique in England, and the South Blockhouse remains the only section of the historic town defences to escape destruction during Hull’s urban development and growth from the 19th century onwards.